Music Academy choses vocalist S. Sowmya for Sangita Kalanidhi award

The Executive Committee of the Music Academy on July 21 unanimously decided on the Sangita Kalanidhi and other awards that is decorates artistes with at the end of its annual Conference and Concerts of 2019.

Senior vocalist S. Sowmya who is based in Chennai was chosen for the prestigious Sangita Kalanidhi award.

Here is a list of the other artistes chosen for awards -

Sangita Kala Acharya - Seetha Narayanan
Sangita Kala Acharya - M S Sheela
TTK Award - Vyasarpadi Kothandaraman
TTK Award - Rajkumar Bharathi
Musicologist - Dr Arati N Rao

Nritya Kalanidhi - Priyadarshini Govind

Here are the profiles of the artistes (as put out by the Academy) chosen for the awards -

Sangita Kalanidhi award

Dr. S. Sowmya, an outstanding Carnatic vocalist has been chosen for the coveted Sangita Kalanidhi award. A disciple of Sangita Kalanidhi Dr S. Ramanathan and Sangita Kala Acharya T. Muktha, S. Sowmya is one of the foremost exponents of the art today. A Ph.D. holder from the University of Madras, she is known for her intellectual approach to music. She is a part of the faculty of The Music Academy's Advanced School of Carnatic Music. She is also on the Academic Council of the Tamil Nadu Music and Fine Arts University. She will preside over the 93rd Annual Conference of The Music Academy to be held from 15th December 2019 to 1st January 2020.

Sangita Kala Acharya : 2 Awards

Seetha Narayanan is a senior performer and guru and embraces a wide variety of schools -the Sangita Kalanidhi Tiger Varadachariar bhani and the Sangita Kalanidhi Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer bhani that she absorbed through several disciples of the stalwarts. She also came under the tutelage of Sangita Kalanidhi Dr S Ramanathan. She has trained numerous students in her style.

M.S. Sheela, the other-Sangita Kala Acharya awardee is a torchbearer for Carnatic music in Karnataka. She holds a post graduate degree in the subject. She trained under her mother M N Rathna and later under Sangita Kalanidhi R K Srikantan. She has established her name in the classical, devotional and light music genres. She has trained several disciples who carry forward her style of music.

T.T.K. Awards: 2

Vyasarpadi Kothandaraman, is among the most popular Nagaswaram artistes in the field, Kothandaraman comes from Thirupulivanam near Kanchipuram. He had his training under his father, Gopalaswami, and is not only a popular performer known for emphasising the lyrical aspects via his music but is also a guru, teaching several students the difficult and demanding art of nagaswaram.

Rajkumar Bharathi is a great grandson of the national poet Subramani Bharathi. He began his tutelage under his mother Lalitha, when 5. He later trained under Valliyur Gurumurthi, and Sangita Kalanidhis M Balamuralikrishna and T V Gopalakrishnan. Beginning as a performer, he later moved on to composing, for dance, audio CDs, fusion music / dance projects and thematic presentations.

Musicologist Award:

Dr. Arati N.Rao is Assistant Professor, Jain University, Bengaluru where she researches and teaches in the area of musicology. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Mysore on the topic ' Vijayanagara as a Seat of Music'. She has published several papers in journals and presented papers in international conferences apart from being involved in ongoing research projects.

Nritya Kalanidhi

The Nritya Kalanidhi Award for Dance, will be conferred on Priyadarsini Govind, one of the foremost Bharatanatyam dancers among the current generation. She was trained by two stalwarts, S. K. Rajarathnam Pillai and Kalanidhi Narayanan and has performed in all the major centres in India and abroad in a career spanning two decades. She has also participated in many international dance festivals and collaborative works apart from having some productions to her credit. She has received the Kalaimamani award from the Government of Tamil Nadu. She was the Director of Kalakshetra Foundation for a term until recently.

Sangita Kalanidhi and other music awards will be conferred at the sadas of the music festival on 1st January 2020. The Nritya Kalanidhi Award will be presented at the inauguration of the dance festival on 3rd January 2020