Ananya awards event in Bangalore

Bangalore-based Ananya which promotes music and dance recitals, especially of young talents and supports archival and education projects of the performing arts is hosting its annual awards event and festival from May 8 to 10.


Ananya Puraskara 2014 will have two segments - a series of concerts and the awards function.

The concerts, from May 8 to 10 are to be held at the Ananya campus at Malleswaram ( off 4th Main Road) while the awards event will take place on May 11 at the Seva Sadan auditorium in the same area.

The Rudrapatnam Brothers perform on May 8, Dr Sukanya Prabhakar performs on May 9 and on May 10, Geetha Ramanand on the veena and Dr Jayanth Kumar Das on the sitar present a jugalbandhi concert.

This year, the Ananya Puraskara award will be given to the Rudrapatnam Brothers - R N Thyagarajan and Dr R N Tharanathan. The Shastra Kaustubha award is to be given to vocalist and musicologist Dr Sukanya Prabhakar and the Ananya Yuva Puraskara awards, given to young artistes goes to Chandanabla Kalyan ( vocalist), the Bangalore Brothers M. B. Hariharan and S. Ashok who are vocalists, Dr K. T. Udaya Kiran ( violin and vocal) and morsing artiste Bhagyalakshmi M. Krishna.

While the concerts start at 6.30 p.m. daily the awards function starts at 9.30 am with two short concerts. Chiranjeevi Singh, former chief secretary to the Govt, of Karnataka is the chief guest and Dr U. R. Ananthamurthy, Ananya's chairman presides.

Contact - 080-23472020 / 23471065.
E-mail - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.