<% mode=" "%> Welcome to KutcheriBuzz.com <% call masthead("news") %> <% call LeftColumn(mode) %>
News Round UpDecember 16, 2002
Honours for young talent 
The stage decor at Bharat Kalachar had a colourful display of the beautiful antique sarees of Dr. Mrs. Y.G.Parthasarathy, at the inauguration of the sabha's 16th Margazhi Mahotsav on 13 December.

This is probably the one-stop place during the December Season where young talent get their recognition. 17 young artistes received the 'Yuva Kala Bharathi' award and they were Subhashri Ramachandran, Abhishek Raghuram, Palghat Ramprasad and Padma Seshadri sisters (vocal), Thiruvarur Swaminathan and T. Atul Kumar (Flute), Melakaveri Thiagarajan and Akkarai Subbulakshmi (Violin), Manoj Siva (mridangam), K.S. Sudhaman (mridangam for dance), Jayamangala Krishnamurthy (vocal and mridangam), L. Narendra Kumar, Priya S. Dixit, Preethi B. Athreya, Bhargavi Gopalan, Sheejith Krishna and Vaishnavi Rajagopalan (Bharatanatyam).

S. Natarajan (Dubai) who specialises in Bhagavatamela Nataka was honoured with the 'Vishwa Kala Bharathi' award for service in the field of fine arts abroad and V.R. Devika received the 'Kala Seva Bharathi' award for service in the field of Dance, Theatre and Choreography.

This year, the sabha also honoured three specialists who have contributed to fine arts - Gopi (Lights, Mikes and Stage Sets), D.S. Aiyelu (costumes) and Sethumadhavan (makeup).

The other personalities who were honoured for eminence in their respective fields were R.S. Manohar (theatre), S. Rangarajan (Sujatha) for Creative Writing and Theatre, Koothabiran (theatre for children).

Justice B. Subhashan Reddy, N. Gopalaswami, Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India and dancer Malavika Sarukkai were the special guests that evening. The inaugural concert featured a colourful dance drama, 'Mahadevam Mahasenam Bhaje' by students of Anita Guha.

Current News
Your Contributions
Your Comments

<% call BottomNav() %>